The Power of the Nap

No wonder I’m so good at remembering facts, faces, and names….

I actually saw this picture, of all places, on my Twitter feed the other day.  I thought it was a pretty interesting diagram.  For a long time people have looked at napping as something for lazy individuals.  Granted, there are a lot of lazy people who take napping to the extreme.  I won’t argue that.  But, in recent years, there has been much research showing that there are actually some legitimate benefits to napping.

I found a really informative article on why you should nap more, and you can read the full thing here.  It breaks down not only the types of naps and their own unique benefits, but describes the stages of the sleep cycle as well.  And as if we needed any more motivation to get in a quick sleep session, the article presents different everyday situations that could be improved by a quick nap, ranging from improving alertness or stamina to pulling an all-nighter for work or school.

Don’t get me wrong here folks, I’m not saying we should all sleep the day away every day.  But, if you’ve got a little bit of free time and feel like you need a quick pick-me-up, find a comfy spot and stare at the back of your eyelids for a little while.  Go on, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

