Happy New Year

So this post is a day late and for that I send my sincerest apology.  I know you all have been chomping at the bit to read this, so I’m sorry.  But hey, better late than never, right?

Most of you have seen or at least heard about our New Year’s Resolution Solution program here at Bodyfit (If you haven’t, come in and pick up a FREE packet today).  Since we are asking our clients to tell us their resolutions/goals, I figure that it’s only fair that I give you guys a couple of mine.  I have three major goals for this year that I will share with you all.  And just as I am helping you guys with yours, feel free to hold me accountable for mine.

  1. Take the Bodyfit PUNCH community to the next level.  Notice here I didn’t simply say “improve our gym” or “make more money.”  Don’t get me wrong, those are important aspects to running a successful business, but that’s not what we’re all about it.  We want our facility to be community- and client-based, putting the health and fitness of our clients as our top priority.  Even further than that, we want everyone who comes in the doors at PUNCH to feel welcome and apart of our family.  There are obviously a lot of things that go into running a successful business, but for us, it starts with making our clients feel comfortable in what can sometimes be an uncomfortable situation.  If we can do this, everything else will take care of itself.
  2. Don’t worry. Be Happy.  I’m not a huge reggae fan, but Mr. Marley sure hit the nail on the head with this one.  I feel like in some form or fashion, this is one of my goals each and every year.  That isn’t to say I don’t reach this goal every year, but I think this is something everyone should aim for, regardless of their current situation.  Working for a small business can sometimes be stressful, and it can be very easy to get too caught up in it at times.  So it’s important to remember to take a step back every once in a while and actually enjoy life.  Sometimes I forget just how fortunate I am to be where I am and have the life that I have.  So I will try to remember that and embrace it more often this year.
  3. Complete at least 1 Triathlon.  This one isn’t as deep or philosophical as the other two goals.  It’s just something I’ve always thought would be fun.  And by fun, I mean something that will probably be absolutely miserable.  BUT, those are usually the things that, looking back, make you the proudest.  I am constantly looking for new and exciting ways to challenge myself physically, and now it’s time to get serious about something I’ve talked about for a long time.  I don’t care what distance it is – half, mini, etc – I just want to cross the finish line of a swim, bike, and run event.

So, there you go.  You all are sharing your personal goals with us this year, so I decided to give you a few of mine.  I hope that by reading these that you can find your motivation to do something that you’ve always wanted to do but never really took the time to start.  If nothing else, I hope that you’ve at least gotten some entertainment from the thought of my lanky ass in a swimming pool or on a road bike.

Leave a Reply

