Why Personal Training???

Don’t be intimidated….

I was talking to a friend the other day about personal training because, well, that’s what I do.  I tell all of my friends that they need to come workout with me because I am the best personal trainer in the history of the world.  Actually, I encourage them to come workout with me because I think everyone should exercise.  It may not be with me.  It could be on your own or with another buddy.  That is okay – as long as you’re doing something.  Who you exercise with isn’t why I’m writing this post, though.  The answer that this person gave me when I asked them to come train with me is what I want to talk about.  It kind of threw me off for a minute; I didn’t quite understand her logic.  The response:

“I’m not ready for that yet.  I’m not in good enough shape for you to train me.  Let me get in a little better shape and then I’ll let you train me.”

My initial thought:  “Bullshit excuse.”  Now, obviously, I didn’t respond with that.  I respectfully went on about my business.  But as I got to thinking about why she said that I came to a couple of realizations.  The first is that a large number of people probably share the same philosophy.  They don’t think they’re in good enough shape to have a trainer, or workout with one.  This frustrates me sometimes because that is just the purpose of getting a personal trainer.  We GET people in shape.  We also KEEP people in shape.  There is no rule that says you have to be in shape already to hire or work with a personal trainer.  Getting yourself in shape and THEN hiring a trainer is like doing your taxes on your own and then paying an accountant to do them for you.

Now, there are hundreds and thousands of article listing the top reasons to hire a personal trainer.  ACCOUNTABILITY.  MOTIVATION.  STRUCTURED PROGRAM.  SAFETY.  TECHNIQUE.  Yes, those are all true, and they’re great reasons to hire a personal trainer.  But, to me, the bottom line is that we are in the business of getting people in better shape and helping them lead a healthier lifestyle.  It’s that simple.  Your baseline level doesn’t matter, because it’s not going to stay the same for long.

The second realization that I came to kind of plays hand in hand with the first.  Not only do many people believe they’re not in good enough shape, but they don’t think they’re capable of doing ay physical activity at all.  Personally, I think that’s the bigger issue.  You might be right in thinking like this.  You might not be in very good shape.  But guess what???  That’s okay!!!!  Not everybody can run a 6-minute mile.  Not everyone can bench press 300 pounds.  That shouldn’t stop you from trying, though.  All I’ve ever asked any client that I’ve ever worked with is that they do THEIR best – not another person’s best.

If you’re reading this then I want you to realize that you are capable of doing so much more than you realize.  If you don’t know how to go about it, then that’s where we as trainers come in to play.  Don’t let your fear of activity or lack of knowledge stop you from becoming a healthier person.  Let us trainers take care of the hard stuff, you just show up and kick ass!!

Leave a Reply

