Halfway Home

So I’m halfway through….

I went into this 30-day period knowing it would be challenging.  To what extent, I was unsure, but I knew there would be situations that presented challenges for me.  This weekend I wanted to see just how disciplined I really can be when I want to be.  So I ate out at two of my favorite restaurants here in Lexington – Saul Good and Longhorn Steakhouse.  If you have been to neither one of these, shame on you, seriously.

Saturday night was Saul Good night.  I met my brother, roommate, and a good amount of other friends down there who were, let’s just say, less than sober.  Keeping in mind I am not allowed alcohol of any sort, this was shaping up to be a challenge right off the bat.  Loud, hungry, drunk people.  Yeah, they eat really healthy food, don’t they??  It started off with the table ordering my favorite appetizer, the Southwestern Corn Dip.  I had to literally sit on my hands to keep from eating some of it.  Fortunately for me though, our meal came shortly after.  I had the Ribeye and fire roasted vegetables.  Let me tell you, it was well worth the wait.

Sunday night I went with my roommate and a few friends from college to Longhorn Steakhouse after the UK game.  Once again, the odds were stacked against me as my roommate so kindly ordered the Firecracker Chicken Wraps for the table.  I haven’t had these, but they looked like a little bit of heaven wrapped in a tortilla.  Will power came to the rescue in the form of a salad, though, which took my mind off of it for a minute.  My meal of a 12 ounce steak and sweet potato came out and was gone in less time than it took the waiter to bring it to me.

So what’s my point of telling you guys about my weekend dinner outings?  It’s pretty simple, really.  Most people think that just because they’re going out for dinner, that they have to totally neglect any idea of healthy eating.  Well, I’m here to tell you that just isn’t the truth.  Sure, it’s easy to get that 1,000 calorie burger – I’ve done it plenty of times.  Of course it’s easy to order the best tasting dessert you’ve ever had.  BUT, what I want you guys to know is that you can still eat relatively healthy even at your favorite restaurant.  I did it this weekend.  TWICE.  It wasn’t easy.  And of course I wanted to indulge.  But I didn’t.  I stayed true to my goal, and so can you!!

One thought on “Halfway Home

  1. Lee Anne

    That’s awesome Brock! I love both those restaurants and going out to eat! People will comment and say the same thing to me that there is no way to eat healthy going out but i say YES YOU CAN! Just do it!!!

Leave a Reply

