Five Days In….

So, I am five days in to my 30 Day Challenge – geez I’ve got a long way to go.  Since I know all of you are chomping at the bit to find out how Brock Jones is doing on his nutrition program, I will give you and update.

I miss you. So, so much….

A lot of people have been asking me how it’s going so far, and in all honesty my answer of “so far, so good” is about as honest as it can get.  In reality, the weekdays aren’t going to be a challenge for me.  Monday through Saturday morning I am about as clean of an eater as you will find outside of all those nutrition freaks that have nothing better to do than analyze every ounce of food that enters their body.  Seriously, guys, get a life.  Anyway, back to the issue at hand…. A few things that I’ve come across that might be a little troubling during the next 25 days..

  1. The weekend is coming.  As I’ve mentioned to many of you, Sunday is usually, to put it bluntly, my “eat very shitty food” day.  It serves a few different purposes, but mainly I do it simply to hit the reset button both mentally and physically.  I’ve been doing this for quite some time now.  No, I don’t have a 6-pack set of abs that just rip through my skin like you see on all these commercials, but it works for me.  So, this is going to be a challenge for me to still eat clean on Sundays.  One thing it will help with, though, is getting rid of that groggy, lethargic feeling that always comes around on Monday morning.  Let’s hope so, at least.
  2. Staying Full.  I don’t know if it’s the mental or physical aspect of making major dietary switches, but any time I have done something like this I am constantly hungry.  At least for the first week or two, I am constantly thinking about what and when I am going to eat next.  Now, to be honest with you, this isn’t THAT out of the ordinary.  Anybody who knows me knows that I can demolish just about any plate that’s put in front of me without breaking a sweat, and be ready to eat again in an hour.  One of the pitfalls of a high metabolism.  This situation is a little different, though.  I feel like since I am very limited with what I can eat right now, I am constantly wondering and thinking about what my next meal is going to be.  How can a fuel my workouts?  How can I stay full?  How can I maintain energy?  Having major restrictions can certainly make questions like that hard to answer.  Give it a week or two, though, and surely I’ll have this thing figured out.

That’s about it for now, folks.  Wish me luck as I head into the temptation-filled weekend.  Let’s hope I can stay away from the hops and comfort foods that are sure to present themselves.  Check back in three days and see if I’m still on track!!!

Leave a Reply

