I Workout, So I Don’t Have To….

Looks good, right???  It better, it’s going to stay with you for a while after the meal is over.

One of my favorite phrases of all time: “I workout all the time, so I don’t have to watch what I eat.”  Have you ever heard anybody say something along those lines?  Well, if you’re like me the answer is yes.  And don’t worry, by “my favorite phrases,” I meant “the most idiotic things someone can say regarding nutrition and exercise.”  The idea that someone can lose weight, or even maintain, for that matter, without at least attempting to eat healthy is down right absurd.

Now, let me throw this out there first… There are ALWAYS the outliers, the exceptions to the rule, the people that just piss you off.  You know the ones I’m talking about.  They can eat the left side of McDonald’s menu and come out rockin’ a six pack.  Those people don’t count for this blog, because for some reason they’re genetics have decided to tease the rest of us into thinking it’s easy.

So, let’s get back to my point.  People constantly think that because they exercise – which is a good thing, don’t get me wrong – that they can simply neglect what goes on in the kitchen.  That’s a recipe for disaster.  As most of you already know, Americans as a whole are much better at consuming calories than burning them.  Let’s say you burn 800 calories during your workout.  A great number for anybody.  That’s a hard workout and something to be proud of.  But, since you don’t have to watch what you eat, you’re next meal is a burger, fries, and a coke.  Now I’m no culinary genius here, but that’s going to negate everything you just did in the gym.  See where I’m going with this???  It’s is SO easy to bring in the calories. But if you want to lose weight, then the number being consumed needs to be less than the number being burned.  It is unanimously agreed that the best way to lose fat is this format = Calories In < Calories Out.

My point is simple… I know you need a cheat meal or cheat day every once in a while.  Lord knows that I enjoy food enough to have a couple bad meals myself.  But you can’t eat whatever the hell you want to every single day just because you exercise twice a week and expect to see any results.  You don’t have to change every single thing that you do in terms of nutrition, but a sound effort needs to be made in order to have any type of success.

Leave a Reply

