Not Always About the Mirror. Part I.

Find yourself doing this a lot???

If the answer to that question was yes, then don’t worry, you’re not alone.  Not even close.  There are SO MANY people out there today who look in the mirror and are constantly disappointed in what they see.  Whether it is rational or not, something in their minds tells them that they are not good enough.  Do I understand why this happens?  Not completely.  Does that keep it from happening?  It most certainly does not.

The way I look at it is fairly simple:  Why strive for the perfect body, when there is no such thing as perfect??  Maybe a little more philosophical than I usually appear on my blog, but I think it’s a solid argument.  There is no such thing as perfect, especially when it comes to something as sensitive as appearance.  No matter how many situps you do, you’re still not going to have perfect abs.  You can probably still be in better shape, regardless of how many interval workouts you did this week.  That’s what everyone else says.  It must be true, right???  Wrong.

My point is simple… If you are one of those individuals who is constantly caught up in what you see in the mirror everyday, you need to realize one very simple thing:  Your weight/looks/athletic ability does not define you as a human being.  It may be something that is very important to you – as it is to me and many I am surrounded by – but it is not the only thing.  There are so many other things that go into making you who you are.  There is no doubt that health/exercise are very important – it’s why I do what I do.  But, what you see in the mirror isn’t always the best reflection of that (see what I did there).

Now, why would I say something like this, being that I’m a personal trainer?  Well, it’s pretty basic, really (at least to me it is).  If you’re thinking about making a change in your life – getting in better shape, gaining some more muscle, trimming up a bit, etc – you HAVE to be able to accept where you are.  You may not necessarily LOVE where you are, and that’s okay.  But, you can’t ignore it.  You can’t run from it.  And, most importantly, you can’t become overly obsessed with it.  It becomes an issue when you become so obsessed with what you see (or don’t see, perhaps) that you forget about the big picture.  You become so enthralled with the problems that you see that you work excessively to fix them.  This is when you start doing more harm to your body than good.  I’ve seen it happen to many different people, and it all starts with that negative self image and desire for that elusive “perfect” body.

So, how do I get from worrying so much about the reflection in the mirror to focusing on more important things??  To be honest, it is different for every single person.  I won’t tell you exactly what do to in this blog, but I will tell you what not to do.  Do not focus so much on what you see that you can’t appreciate yourself for who you really are.  Do not get so upset with what you don’t like that you can’t see anything else.  And, DO NOT avoid the issues at hand.  Face them.  You CAN NOT move forward in life or make any positive changes without accepting your current situation, whether it is something you like or not.  You are a special and unique person, and it’s important not to lose sight of that regardless of the situation.

Come back and check out Part II of this blog and I will tell you what I focus on as opposed to what I see in the mirror every day.

One thought on “Not Always About the Mirror. Part I.

Leave a Reply

