Happy Birthday America

What a beaut she is…

First and foremost, I think it’s totally cliché to wait for major holidays to be thankful for something, tell someone you love them, or be proud to be an American.  I feel like you should do those things on a daily basis, not waiting until a special occasion to do so.  With that said, I understand that certain days are designed for celebrating more so than others.  They give us a chance to renew our faith, patriotism, etc..  Today is no different.  I am proud as hell to be American, and since today is our country’s celebrated birthday, I want to share some thoughts with you.

There is no doubt that America has its problems.  We have an economy that, at the moment, could be a lot better.  We have a higher unemployment rate than we probably should.  We have too many criminals.  And as Edward Snowden so bravely pointed out (and by bravely, I mean the most cowardly fucking way possible), we have a government that sometimes crosses the line in terms of privacy.  BUT, we still have the freedom to do just about anything we want to on a daily basis.  Anywhere from food, to clothing, to political or religious affiliation, to what we listen to on the radio, we have the right to choose what we want to do in this country.  And I think that’s what makes us great.  For every person who you don’t agree with on a certain issue, there is somebody across the globe who doesn’t even have the right to have an opinion.

What I try to do on a daily basis is appreciate the people in my life for who they are as opposed to what they are.  Within my inner circle of close friends and family members, I have people from all ends of the spectrum.  Conservative, liberal, gay, straight, tall, short, skinny, fat, black, and white, I have people close to me from all over.  And that uniqueness is not only what I try to appreciate, but it’s what makes America.  Some places, everyone dresses, looks, and acts the same.  To me, that sounds pretty damn boring.  I don’t always agree with everyone around me on certain issues, but the fact that we CAN disagree is pretty cool to me.

So, what’s my point with all of this??  I want to challenge you to go beyond just the July 4th holiday this year.  It’s easy to be proud today.  It’s easy to appreciate all that we have in this country today.  Everybody is proud today.  But what about tomorrow??  When the fireworks are over and the festivals are done.  Are you going to go back to bitching and complaining about all the problems in the country or all of the people who you disagree with??  Or are you going to appreciate the smaller things in this country that make our lives so great?  Whether things are going in your favor or not, whether you agree with somebody on a certain issue or not, we’ve got it pretty good here in America.  My challenge to you is to not forget that, and appreciate it every day.

Simply put, ladies and gents.  This is America…. and we are better than everyone else.  Now let’s all start acting like it.

Leave a Reply

