80 Percent of the Time, It Works Every Time

The 80/20 Rule

 

For those of you struggling to maintain healthy eating habits, who are caught up in counting carbs or calories, or just don’t know where to start when it comes to healthy eating, I’ve got a pretty simply philosophy for you to follow.  It’s called the 80/20 Rule, and it is exactly what it sounds like.  The rule basically says that if you can eat healthy meals 80% of the time, you will see changes in not only your health in general, but your physique, as well.

Personally, I follow more of an 85/15 or 90/10 Rule for myself, but this is plenty for most people.  The philosophy behind this is the fact that it simplifies everything.  There is no counting carbs.  There is no counting calories (Most people in the fitness world would agree that as long as the food you’re eating is healthy, you can have as much of it as you want.  E.G. vegetables, proteins, etc.).  Just eat a well-balanced, healthy meal, and that’s all you have to worry about.  8 out of 10 meals need to be healthy.  It doesn’t need to get any more complicated than that.  Stop the “no food before noon or after 6 o’clock” crap.  Stop totaling up every calorie that goes in.  JUST EAT HEALTHY FOODS!!!

So, let’s put some numbers into this real quick.  I eat 4 large meals a day (Sometimes if I’m in a real good mood I’ll eat 5, but we’ll stick with 4 for now).  So, that totals out to 28 meals a week.  According to this, if I want to stay lean, healthy, and in good physical condition, I’m going to need to eat at least 23 healthy meals a week.  Now for me personally, it’s going to be closer to 25 or 26, but you get the picture.  Do what you have to do to reach that percentage each week.  Maybe it’s 4 out of every 5 meals, or maybe it’s 8 out of ten.  It doesn’t matter how you do it, as long as you find a way and stick with it.

2 thoughts on “80 Percent of the Time, It Works Every Time

    • Brock Jones

      To be honest I don’t give myself any restrictions for the 20%. Whatever I feel like eating/drinking, I go for it. But that’s just me. As long as it doesn’t spill over into the next meal, I’d say you’re fine. I do eat carbs as a part of a healthy meal. They are usually complex carbs, though, as opposed to simple carbs. Most people would agree that with lean proteins and complex carbs, there is really no need in setting a “limit” on how much of them you can allow yourself to eat.

Leave a Reply

