Shaking My Head

Pushing It to the (Idiotic) Limit

enhanced-buzz-12362-1362404933-7

First and foremost, the website where I found this photo couldn’t be more accurate.  There are way too many captions to be made at the expense of these guys to list here.  But I won’t waste any time making fun of those sweatpants turned Daisy Dukes that this guy is rocking…

What I’m taking issue with this week is the ridiculous nature of this exercise.  Yeah, standing on a Swiss ball is cool.  Sure.  If you can do that for longer than 10 seconds then you’ve probably got some crazy core strength and stability.  Squatting on the Swiss ball, with 135 pounds on your back???  Now, that, my friends, is just plain stupid.  I have never once in my life seen anything close to this done in a gym.  EVER.  And if somebody I knew was trying to do this I would stop it immediately.  I mean, seriously, look at this guys ankles.  It looks like he is going to pull a Kevin Ware any minute now (too soon??).  This has just got disaster written all over it.  And please, don’t even mention the fact that he has a spotter.  What in the world is this guy going to do when the ball moves out from under???  Oh, that’s right… Call the ambulance…

I know you have all seen people in the gym trying to push it to new limits.  There is nothing wrong with that.  I encourage it, as a matter of fact.  But, when it comes at the expense of the person’s safety, the it becomes an issue.  Dumb and Dumber up here in our photo are probably thinking to themselves: Yeah we’re bad ass, we squat on Swiss balls…  Yeah, well, here in a minute you’re probably going to be smashing your own swiss balls when that thing rolls out from underneath you.

It annoys the hell out of me whenever I see people doing stuff that a stunt man wouldn’t even try, simply because they think it’s going to make an exercise a little more difficult.  You want to make an exercise more difficult, add some weight.  It’s not rocket science.  If you are going to test the waters of some crazy new exercise, you sure as shit don’t need to be doing it with 135 pounds across your back.

People so stupid stuff in the gym all of the time.  Sometimes out of sheer ignorance to what is the correct way to do something, sometimes out of arrogance.  I can stand the former, but the latter leaves me Shaking My Head every single time.

Leave a Reply

