Shaking My Head

Your Sh*t Really Does Stink

Regrettably, I must admit that I am my own inspiration for this week’s entry.  As I got into my car after my workout this morning, I noticed a distinct smell.  Now, my car does have the odor of a 2-year-old dog lingering around, but that wasn’t it.  I’m used to that smell, and this was different.  The longer I was in the car, the more I noticed it.  Finally, I realized that the aura singing my nose hairs was my own sweat.  Yes, I had just worked out for a couple of hours, but this was especially noticeable today.  I could only come up with three reasonable excuses as to why this was the case…. 1) My washing machine is broke.  2) Old Spice needs a recall on all deodorant sticks.  3) I’m just having a rough morning.  I’m going to take option 3 here, as I believe Old Spice to be a quality brand of deodorant that has never let me down, and my washing machine – albeit an older model – still runs like a champ.  So, yes, ladies and gentlemen, there was nobody to blame but myself.  What can I say, I guess it happens to the best of us.

So, whats my point?  Why am I telling you this??  Well, you’ve all been witness to it before.  That one guy or girl in the gym that smells like they’ve been sunbathing next to dead fish for a week.  Its one of those smells that, to quote the great Ron Burgundy, “stings the nostrils” when it hits.  Yeah, that deep burn that you just can’t escape.  And guess what, even better than the smell, is the fact that they seem to be working out right next to you wherever you go.  Just your luck, right???

Now, I’m not saying that every person in the gym is supposed to smell like roses.  I just admitted to you that it happens to everyone, because we all have a bad day every once in a while.  It happens.  But there is no excuse for it to happen all the time.  I guarantee everyone reading this post can think of someone who tends to smell a little odd every time they walk in the gym.  There’s no need in putting on cologne before stepping into the gym, because we all know I’m not big on that.  But there’s also no reason to shower once a month.  Even my dog gets a bath more than that!!!

Like I said, this type of stuff just happens every once in a while.  Maybe you’re having a bad day.  Maybe your deodorant stick really did stop working on you.  I don’t know.  But the one thing I do know is that every time I notice that day-old sweat swell I am left Shaking My Head.  It just so happened that today that disgust was directed right back in the mirror.

Leave a Reply

