Shaking My Head

5 Minute Abs

You’ve all seen the videos or read the posters before: “Get fast abs!!”  “Just 5 minutes a day will get you those abs you’ve always wanted!!!”  “10 minutes to a better you!!!”  Well, in case you’ve been MIA for the last, I  don’t know, EVER, I’ll show you what I’m talking about…

                

Here, it gets even better….

IMG_0795         

See what they’re doing nowadays???  They’re not just putting an easy workout in front of you, but they’re pairing them with, quite frankly, some awesome physiques.  So, my natural response is this:  BULLSHIT.  Now, there’s certainly nothing wrong with getting in a quick ab workout, or a simple lower body workout.  BUT, if you think doing something for 5 minutes a day is going to get you those buns of steel or a washboard stomach, you couldn’t be further from the truth.

There is nothing wrong with trying to convince people to exercise.  There is nothing wrong with giving people simple workouts to get started.  But there something wrong with flat-out lying.  And to be completely honest, I really don’t know what worse, the people who come up with these marketing strategies or the morons who buy into them….  Now before going any further, I want you to read that sentence again so you don’t take it the wrong way.  I’m not calling you a moron for doing the workout.  That’s fine.  Like I mentioned, any workout is better than sitting on your ass eating Cheeto’s (even if they are delicious).  I’m saying you need to get a grip on reality if you believe 5 minutes a day will get you a six-pack.  It’s just not going to happen.  It’s that simple.

Look, I understand exercise is not an easy habit to pick up, especially if you don’t have a passion for it.  So I understand there is a need to simplify and make it seem doable for many people.  I get it.  But these types of messages are just ridiculous.  A blind man could see that it’s not going to work (see what I did there??).  I see it all too often, and every time I find one of these types of workouts I end up Shaking My Head.

 

Leave a Reply

