My Own Resolution(s)

If you are a client of mine, or you have talked to me for any amount of time about New Year’s Resolutions, you will already know that I am not huge on the idea behind them.  I think they are great for some people, as they can provide a clean slate and a fresh start to whatever they want to do.  However, my own philosophy is that I don’t like waiting until next year, next week, or even tomorrow to make a change in my life.  If I want it bad enough, there is no better time than the present to get it done.  BUT, I did just write a blog on how to stick with your resolution.  So, I feel like I should at least come up with something for you guys to read about.  My resolutions this year are not only very simple, but they are the exact same resolutions as last year.  Here they are, in all their glory:

1.  Get in the best shape of my life.  I know what you’re thinking… Brock you are in better shape than anyone I know.  How could you possibly get in any better shape???  I know, I know.  It’s tough being in such good shape that the thought of improving is almost laughable (If you thought that was sincere, you should probably stop reading my blog).  I know this seems kind of bland and dull, but it is a perfect goal for me.  Exercise is my passion, and I personally don’t really need a lot of outside motivation to stay in shape.  My competition, now that I am out of athletics, is with myself.  I realize that not every single day will be positive; some days will be detrimental, actually (Trust me, I know myself).  But, if I strive to get better and better every time I exercise, in the long run, it will pay off.  This is a resolution that will stick with me, as it is something that can be applied every single day, week, and year.

2.  Find a source of happiness, both mentally and emotionally.  This one may seem a little bit corny or cheesy, but I think that it is very important.  As most of you know, I don’t take too many things in life very seriously, but this is one of them.  Over the past couple of years I have learned, like I am sure many of you have in some way or another, that life is way too short and precious to not enjoy it.  Many of us get so caught up in the hustle and bustle of every day life that we sometimes forget to just slow down and enjoy a few things along the way.  I have many goals in life, both professional and personal, but one of the most important goals I have in life is simply to enjoy it.  If that means acting like a big kid the majority of the time, then that’s what I’ll do.  I do not downplay the importance of having a successful career, but I also do not downplay the importance of slowing down and taking in all of the great things life has to offer.

Whatever your resolution is this year, whether is has anything to do with fitness or not, I hope that you take it seriously.  Don’t just let it be something you’ve written down with a pad and a pen.  It won’t be easy, but as I’ve mentioned in previous blogs, things that come easy in life generally aren’t worth much.  I challenge you to make a conscious effort each and every day to do something positive to help you stay on track this year.  STICK WITH IT!!!  YOU CAN DO IT!!!

Leave a Reply

